Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  PortalPortal  GalleryGallery  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  Official YouTube PageOfficial YouTube Page  Follow us on Twitter!Follow us on Twitter!  Like us on FACEBOOK!Like us on FACEBOOK!  Follow us on InstagramFollow us on Instagram  Click Here for Official WebsiteClick Here for Official Website  

Basic Medical Kit - all vehicles/teams should have

Go down 
+3
Sandy
nickburt
Gill
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Gill
Private
Private

Basic Medical Kit - all vehicles/teams should have Empty
PostSubject: Basic Medical Kit - all vehicles/teams should have   Basic Medical Kit - all vehicles/teams should have EmptyMon Jun 10, 2013 6:28 am

Hi all,

By way of introduction: my name is Gill and I am a serving Nursing Officer in the QARANC. I am the Matron of Larkhill Garrison (no 'oh matron' jokes please!) - working in the military equivalent of a GP surgery but also having a lot of experience in pre-hospital emergency care. I am married to Sandy and we are part of the marshalling team in vehicle Z5.

Having taken part in the rally previously and being the official 'medic' this year again, I thought it would be useful to post some basic advice on first aid kits/basic medicines to bring. Nothing too extravagant but on previous events some people had nothing at all in the way of basic painkillers that I managed to go through my entire stock by dishing them out to others.

First aid kit:

This only needs to be a general vehicle first aid kit - the type you can buy in Halfords/Boots etc. I will be around for the duration of the rally and will have quite a lot of kit in my first response bag, so should anything happen I should have more than enough kit to provide emergency care until emergency services arrive.